Christ Church, Episcopal


Christ Church, Episcopal, had its beginning in 1876, when a group of English foundrymen met in a pattern room of the Southern States Coal, Iron and Land Company’s shop for religious services in the fledgling town of South Pittsburg. Located on the banks of the Tennessee River, the town is at the southern end of the picturesque Sequatchie Valley, nestled at the foot of the Cumberlands. Under the auspices of St. Paul’s Church in Chattanooga and with the guidance of Bishop Charles Todd Quintard, Christ Church became a parish in May of 1887. The people of Christ Church were led by a group of hard-working, committed young men; Joseph Lodge was among them. In the subsequent 120-plus years, the descendants of Joseph Lodge have been leaders in the church and community.

Bishop Quintard asked the building committee to “put up a graceful and churchly building.” The result was a gracious white frame building with Tiffany stained-glass windows and graceful furnishings. The church was completed, debt-free, in 1884. The first rectory was completed in 1888 and the Parish Hall in 1889.

The original organ that was in the church at the time of its consecration in 1888 was paid for by subscriptions from members of the parish and community, but further details are not known. That organ was replaced in 1928 by Moller Op. 5246. Moller, through area sales and service rep Ray Bradberry, installed a new console in 1975. The stoplist shown below is from the factory specs for the new console. Word has it that there have been some changes since that time. One source says that there are only 7 ranks, which would mean that the Melodia is actually the Swell 8′ Stopped Diapason having travelled to the Great using an alias – and the Swell 4′ Harmonic Flute is an extension of the Stopped Diapason.

Sources: Church history courtesy of Christ Church parishioner Susan Thomas.
Organ information from Bill Barger of Barger & Nix and from the Moller factory specifications for the 1975 console.
Photos by Pat Parris.

M. P. Moller, Inc., Opus 5246, 1928, 2/9
M. P. Moller, Inc., Opus M-7060, 1975, Console


8′ Open Diapason
8′ Melodia
8′ Salicional SW
8′ Dulciana SW
4′ Flute Harmonic Sw
1 1/3 Larigot*
8′ Oboe SW
Unison Off
Swell to Great 16
Swell to Great 8
Swell to Great 4


8′ Stopped Diapason
8′ Salicional
8′ Celeste (formerly Aeoline)*
8′ Dulciana
4′ Flute Harmonic
2′ Principal*
8′ Oboe (synthetic)
Unison Off


16′ Bourdon
16′ Lieblich Gedeckt 12
8′ Flute 12
Great to Pedal 8
Swell to Pedal 8

*later additions and changes